Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Sun, Aug. 25

Phoenix Symphony performs Mozart, Schubert

Talya Buckbinder

Talya Buckbinder

The Phoenix Symphony is returning to Prescott for its penultimate concert of the season this weekend, performing favorites by Mozart and Schubert.

The Sunday, March 31, concert will feature three Mozart compositions, including “Divertimento No. 10 in F Major,” “Adiago and Fugue in C Minor” and “Serenade No. 6 in D Major,” which he composed early in his life, according to a news release from Yavapai Symphony Association member Sue Bray.

“The ‘Divertimento’ begins like an 18th century symphony, but also introduces the first violin as the orchestra’s soloist,” the release states. “The first of the two minuets (are) formed from alternating short phrases, and to begin with, the alternations are quite formal. But after a while Mozart disrupts the pattern he has set up, getting the horns to contribute to a quiet phrase, having the two violins on their own, and extending some of the loud phrases to double their expected length.”

The “Adiago and Fugue in Ci Minor” was originally written for two pianos but was arranged for strings and given a slow and somber introduction in 1788, which adds to its intensity.

The orchestra will also perform Schubert’s “Arpeggione Sonata,” originally written for orchestra and arpeggione, an instrument only found these days in museums. However, the beauty and tender character of Schubert’s music makes the piece popular and it is often played on the cello. Soloist Tanya Buckbinder will join the orchestra on the cello for the piece.

Tickets for the 3 p.m. concert range from $29 to $42, and full-time college students can purchase any available ticket for $10. Further, since this concert is scheduled only two weeks away from the symphony’s final concert of the season on Sunday, April 14, a $10 per person discount is offered for concert goers who purchase tickets to both performances.

That concert will focus orchestral music drawn from familiar folk tunes and feature “The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires” by Astor Piazolla and “Symphony No. 1” by Florence Price.

“Prescott audiences can take advantage of a price break on these two concerts as they are scheduled so close together,” said Arlon Inman, president of the Yavapai Symphony Association. “These two concerts offer some all-time favorite pieces, performed by such an outstanding orchestra.”

Tickets for the concert are available by calling 928-776-4255 or at the Yavapai Symphony Association office, 228 N. Alarcon St. There is a pre-concert lecture about the performance at 2 p.m. Both concerts at are the Yavapai College Performing Arts Center, 1100 E. Sheldon St.

For more information about the Yavapai Symphony Association, visit

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...