Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Thu, March 21

County precinct races range from 0 to 5 candidates
Filing petitions now closed for Justice of Peace and Constable seats

The race for constable and justice of the peace positions in Yavapai County has more than one candidate vying for seats in five localities. The deadline to file petitions for these and other county offices ended at 5 p.m. Wednesday, May 30.

“Sometimes we don’t get any candidates,” said Lynn Constabile, Yavapai County Elections director. Constable positions in Bagdad/Yarnell and Seligman are unpaid. “That’s why we don’t have a lot of interest. It’s basically a volunteer position,” Constabile said.

Prescott, Mayer and Verde Valley are paid positions, however. The Justice of the Peace race in Seligman has five candidates running for the seat. That could be because, as a smaller precinct, it doesn’t take a lot of signatures on the candidate petition, she said. Incumbent Dominick Sarno is challenged by Ethan Burch, Benjamin Scott Emery, Janice Kulp and Wade Simon.

Running unopposed as Clerk of the Superior Court is incumbent Donna McQuality.

Justice of Peace/Constable

Justices of the Peace hear civil litigation cases that involve less than $10,000, small claims involving less than $3,500; issuance of search and arrest warrants, orders of protection; hear cases involving civil traffic violations, landlord/tenant disputes (including evictions), weddings, and misdemeanors in criminal matters.

Constables are officers of the county justice courts, and are the executive enforcement branch of the justice court. They serve and enforce evictions, orders of protection and injunctions against harassment, civil and criminal summons and subpoenas; provide security to justice court; and store and conduct sales of property that have been levied.

Others running unopposed are Constable Ron Williams of Prescott, Constable Luis Alvarez of Seligman, Constable Jody Fanning of Verde Valley, Justice of the Peace Bill Rummer of Mayer, and all five Superior Court judges: David Mackey, John Napper, Tina Ainley, Cele Hancock and Anna Young.

Two candidates filed for the Mayer constable seat: Hank Hellman, incumbent since 2003, and challenger Donny Oen, both from Humboldt.

In Bagdad/Yarnell, two candidates have filed petitions for the Justice of the Peace seat: current Bagdad/Yarnell Constable Dennis Dowling, Kirkland, and Shelly Bacon, Peeples Valley.

Candidates for fire, hospital, road, water, wastewater and sanitary districts abide by a July 9 to Aug. 8 filing period. School district governing board positions operate on the same timeline.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...