Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Wed, Nov. 20

County precinct races range from 0 to 5 candidates
Filing petitions closed for Justice of Peace and Constable seats

The race for constable and justice of the peace positions in Yavapai County has more than one candidate vying for seats in five localities. The deadline to file petitions for these and other county offices ended Wednesday, May 30.

“Sometimes we don’t get any candidates,” said Lynn Constabile, Yavapai County Elections director. Constable positions in Bagdad/Yarnell and Seligman are unpaid. “That’s why we don’t have a lot of interest. It’s basically a volunteer position,” Constabile said.

Prescott, Mayer and Verde Valley are paid positions, however. The Justice of the Peace race in Seligman has five candidates running for the seat. That could be because, as a smaller precinct, it doesn’t take a lot of signatures on the candidate petition, she said. Incumbent Dominick Sarno is challenged by Ethan Burch, Benjamin Scott Emery, Janice Kulp and Wade Simon.

Running unopposed as Clerk of the Superior Court is incumbent Donna McQuality.

Others running unopposed are Constable Ron Williams of Prescott, Constable Luis Alvarez of Seligman, Constable Jody Fanning of Verde Valley, Justice of the Peace Bill Rummer of Mayer, and all five Superior Court judges: David Mackey, John Napper, Tina Ainley, Cele Hancock and Anna Young.

Two candidates filed for the Mayer constable seat: Hank Hellman, incumbent since 2003, and challenger Donny Oen, both from Humboldt.

In Bagdad/Yarnell, two candidates filed petitions for the Justice of the Peace seat: current Bagdad/Yarnell Constable Dennis Dowling of Kirkland, and Shelly Bacon of Peeples Valley.

Candidates for fire, hospital, road, water, wastewater and sanitary districts abide by a July 9 to Aug. 8 filing period. School district governing board positions operate on the same timeline.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...