Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Sat, Nov. 16

City election deadline approaching
Prescott voters have until Nov. 1 to vote by mail

Now about two weeks into the general election voting period, less than 20 percent of Prescott voters have cast their ballots for Prescott Mayor and City Council.

Laurin Custis, registrar of voters with the Yavapai County Recorder’s Office, reported on Friday, Oct. 27, as of that morning, 5,352 ballots had been accepted in the city race.

That amounts to about 18.5 percent of the 29,000 ballots that were mailed out to registered Prescott voters on Oct. 16.

The number of returned ballots is slightly below the level of voter participation by the same time in the August primary season. By two weeks into that voting period, about 21 percent of voters had cast ballots.

Voters have until 7 p.m. Nov. 7 to vote in the general election, and they have about three more days to cast their votes by mail. Custis noted that in order for the ballots to arrive at the Recorder’s Office in time to be counted in the general election, voters should put them in the mail by Wednesday, Nov. 1.

For those voters who opt to wait, the county recommends delivering ballots to one of a number of drop boxes that are available in the community.

Options include: the County Administration Building, 1015 Fair St.; and Prescott City Hall, 201 S. Cortez St.

Prescott voters will decide four positions in the general election –mayor and three council seats.

The mayoral race features a runoff between Prescott Unified School District Board President Greg Mengarelli, and current City Councilwoman Jean Wilcox. The two were the top vote-getters in the three-way primary race for mayor. Because neither received the majority vote needed to be elected outright in the primary, they are facing off in the general election.

Current Prescott Mayor Harry Oberg announced early in this year’s campaign season that he would not seek a second term.

The council race features five candidates vying for three seats, which currently are held by Wilcox, and Councilmen Greg Lazzell and Steve Blair.

Six candidates appeared on the primary ballot, and none received the majority needed to be elected outright. Lazzell withdrew from the race after the primary, and his name does not appear on the general election ballot.

Vying for the three council seats are: Phil Goode, Alexa Scholl, Blair, Connie Cantelme, and Joe Viccica.

For registered Prescott voters who did not receive a ballot, Custis notes that the deadline has now passed for requesting a ballot by mail. Instead, those who have not received a ballot should go the Recorder’s Office, 1015 Fair St., to vote, she said.

Election results will be available on the recorder’s website ( by about one hour after the 7 p.m. Nov. 7 voting deadline.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...