Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Wed, Nov. 20

Dewey-Humboldt election results are official

At yesterday's Dewey-Humboldt town council special study session, council members accepted Yavapai County Elections Department's official canvass of the Aug. 26 election for mayor and three council seats. State statute requires councils to formally accept the canvass.

Unofficial results fluctuated in the days following the election, first indicating incumbent Sonya Williams-Rowe winning by 12 votes over incumbent Mark McBrady. Then the count changed to McBrady leading by seven votes. The official canvass puts McBrady ahead by three votes, 388, to Williams-Rowe's 385.

About 38 percent of registered voters in Dewey-Humboldt turned out for the primary election. Mayor Terry Nolan earned another two years as mayor, with incumbent Jack Hamilton and challenger Doug Treadway winning the other two seats on council.

Town Clerk Judy Morgan said Arizona law for an automatic trigger for a recount requires the lesser of any of six situations, one being a difference of 10 votes in the case of town council. However, the "lesser" statute affecting Dewey-Humboldt is "one-tenth of 1 percent of the number of votes cast for both candidates."

When the two candidates' votes are tallied and multiplied by 1/10 percent, it rounds up to a difference of 1 vote. So there is no automatic recount.

Current council members will serve out their terms through Dec. 31. Nolan, McBrady, Hamilton and Treadway will be sworn in in January.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...