Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Tue, Oct. 15

Who's holding court? County residents decide

Donna McQuality, left, and Bill Rummer

Donna McQuality, left, and Bill Rummer

Note: Results are unofficial.

PRESCOTT - Donna McQuality won the job of Clerk of Court for Yavapai County Tuesday night, beating fellow GOP candidates Wayne Meddaugh and write-in challenger Alex Harris.

McQuality, who had 59 percent of the vote (10,941) to Meddaugh's 39 percent (7,263) and Harris' 1.4 percent (257), said she would continue the path of her predecessor, Sandra K Markham, who died in April.

"I'll tell you, Sandi was a very good role model," she said. "I hope to live up to her expectations."

She said the office would move forward with plans for e-filing of documents, because "Sandi wanted us to be one of the pilot courts" to implement the system.

Because the only candidates to run were Republicans, last night's primary decided the race.

McQuality said she anticipates being appointed to the office in November by Governor Jan Brewer, but if not, she'll take office in January.

In the Mayer Justice of the Peace race, incumbent Bill Rummer, with 58 percent of the vote (1,327), came out ahead of Danny Oen, who had 39 percent (910), and write-in candidate attorney Bill Kunisch, with 2.44 percent (56). Again, this race was decided in last night's primary election.

And in the Seligman JP election, incumbent Janice Kulp won with 49 percent (87 votes) to Wade Simon's 46 percent (83) and will face Democrat Marcus Jacobson and independent Dominick Sarno in November.

Republican Ronald Williams won the race for Prescott constable with 57 percent (6,780), besting GOP incumbent Cory Gardner's 43 percent (5,084).

Prescott Justice of the Peace Arthur Markham and Bagdad/Yarnell JP Anna Mary Glaab faced no opponents and will keep their seats.

In the Bagdad/Yarnell constable race, Dennis Dowling, a Republican, will face off against Jim Armstrong, who lists his party affiliation as Other in November.

Two constable races had just one candidate: Mayer, where Hank Hellman was unopposed, and Seligman, where Luis Alvarez was also unopposed.

Six spots on the county's Superior Court bench were up for grabs, but all the candidates were Republicans running unopposed. Retaining their seats were Presiding Judge David L. Mackey; and Judges Jennifer B. Campbell; Tina Ainley; Patricia Trebesch; Celé Hancock; and Anna Young.

Follow Scott Orr on Twitter @AZNewsguy.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...