Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Wed, Oct. 16

National Night Out teaches how to keep streets safe

Matt Hinshaw/The Daily Courier<br>
Former Prescott Police Chief Mike Kabbel and Prescott Mayor Marlin Kuykendall address homeowners in the Village subdivision’ during the 2012 National Night Out. This year’s event will take place Aug. 6.

Matt Hinshaw/The Daily Courier<br> Former Prescott Police Chief Mike Kabbel and Prescott Mayor Marlin Kuykendall address homeowners in the Village subdivision’ during the 2012 National Night Out. This year’s event will take place Aug. 6.

The Prescott Valley Police Department encourages residents to take part in National Night Out events on Tuesday, Aug 6, to get to know their neighbors better, learn about ways to prevent crime, and work with police to help keep neighborhoods safe.

Along with traditional displays of outdoor lights and front-porch vigils, Prescott Valley neighborhoods have participated in a variety of events over the years that have included block parties, cookouts, and visits from local police, fire department and town officials, Prescott Valley Police Department spokesman Brandon Bonney said.

"Participating in National Night Out is an effective, inexpensive and enjoyable program that promotes neighborhood spirit and police-community partnerships in our efforts in maintaining a safe community," Bonney said.

National Night Out aims to heighten crime and drug prevention awareness, increase participation in local anticrime programs, strengthen neighborhood spirit, and let criminals know that neighborhoods are organized and fighting back, Bonney said.

For more information about National Night Out activities in Prescott Valley, contact the Prescott Valley Police Department at 772-9261 or email the corporal assigned to your district. District 1: Cpl. Jason Kaufman, jkaufman@pvaz.net; District 2: Cpl. Thomas Grant, tgrant@pvaz.net; District 3: Cpl. Tyran Payne, tpayne@pvaz.net; District 4: Cpl. Jeremy Martin, jmartin@pvaz.net; District 5: Cpl. Kell Palguta, kpalguta@pvaz.net; District 6: Cpl. Emilio Rodriguez, erodriguez@pvaz.net. To find out which district you're in, go online to www.pvaz.net/Index.aspx?page=447.

Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...