Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Wed, Nov. 20

Grants, teacher scholarships available from Education Foundation

The Yavapai County Education Foundation plans to increase support for schools and qualified teachers in Yavapai County by offering $12,000 in grants and $2,500 teacher scholarships during this academic year.

During their September board meeting, the Education Foundation board members set goals of offering $12,000 in classroom and school grants. They also decided to provide $2,500 in prospective teacher scholarships - five at $500 each - to students completing education degrees at accredited colleges or universities.

The Yavapai County Education Foundation also would like to increase participation in the annual Teacher-of-the-Year Awards Program, which recognizes outstanding teachers for their achievements. The 19th annual awards banquet will be held May 10 at the Prescott Resort.

The Yavapai County Education Foundation is a non-profit corporation that promotes educational activities in public, charter and private schools by providing money to support educationally related programs and projects.

At the September meeting, the board re-elected Tim Wiederaenders of Prescott as president, Mariela Bean of Prescott Valley as vice president, and Tim Carter of Prescott as secretary.  Dr. Susan Johnstad of Prescott Valley and Tony Shaw of Prescott were named to the board for another term.

Other board members include Tom Benson of Prescott, Cindy Daniels of Chino Valley, Kathleen Fleenor of Clarkdale, Dr. Mary Ellen Halvorson of Prescott, Dr. Ron Minnich of Chino Valley, Richard Moore of Prescott Valley, Ray Newton of Prescott, Bill Price of Prescott, Dr. Henry Schmitt of Prescott Valley, and Dr. Walter Vannette of Cornville.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...