Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Sat, April 20

Education scholarship for 10 teachers-to-be

Ten Yavapai County students representing six county communities each will receive a $1,800 scholarship from the Education Scholarship Endowment-Yavapai County. All 10 are planning careers in teaching.

Recipients and their families will be recognized by ESEYC board members during a luncheon May 6 at the St. Michael's Hotel in Prescott.

The recipients are: Jenica Artlip, of Paulden, who will study elementary education at Northern Arizona University; Christina Horn, Jasmine Licavoli and Hannah Marcum, all of Prescott. Horn and Marcum will enroll at NAU. Licavoli will attend Grand Canyon University; Jeremy DeRois, R.J. Mayer and Jennifer Turner, all of Prescott Valley. DeRois will study at the University of Arizona, Mayer will attend Glendale Community College and Turner, Yavapai College; Grace Somers of Chino Valley will enroll in agricultural education program at the University of Arizona; Susan Lemieus-Luque of Clarkdale will complete her degree at Northern Arizona University; and Ashley Lawler of Cottonwood will major in elementary education at Northern Arizona University.

The $18,000 in educational scholarships came from an endowment founded in 2001 by Gladys Gardner, a former teacher who served as a state representative for District 1 and later became a Yavapai County Supervisor.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...