Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Tue, May 21

List of Prescott Council hopefuls grows to seven

The field of potential candidates for the upcoming Prescott City Council election has now grown to seven - and possibly eight.

As of Friday afternoon, seven candidates had filed the necessary paperwork to make their candidacy official for either one of three seats on the council, or the mayor's post. Another candidate has taken out the informational nominating packet, but has yet to file it with the city clerk's office.

All four incumbents are now among those circulating petitions to get on the ballot for the Aug. 30 primary.

While Mayor Marlin Kuykendall and council members Jim Lamerson and Mary Ann Suttles filed their statements of organization in early January, Councilwoman Lora Lopas added her name to the list when she filed her paperwork on Jan. 31.

Kuykendall and Suttles filed to run for the mayor's post, while Lamerson and Lopas are in the running for re-election as council members.

Along with the incumbents, challenger Chris Kuknyo also filed his statement of organization in early January.

New to the list this week are challengers Charlie Arnold, who filed his statement of qualification on Feb. 8, and Alan Dubiel, who filed his statement of qualification Friday afternoon.

Also possibly running for a council seat is Nicholas Perry, who picked up a nominating packet in early January, but has yet to file it at the city clerk's office.

In order to get on the ballot, prospective candidates must submit petitions containing at least 662 signatures from registered Prescott voters, and not more than 1,323 signatures. By city code, prospective candidates cannot begin collecting signatures on their petitions until after they file a statement of organization.

The first date for filing the petitions is May 2, and the deadline is June 1.

In addition to the candidates, an organization, the Good Governance Committee, headed by Elisabeth Ruffner, also filed a statement of organization on Jan. 4.

Candidates who receive a majority of the votes in the Aug. 30 primary will be elected outright, while any undecided seats will go on to a runoff in the general election on Nov. 8.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...