Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Mon, Dec. 16

Nine Republicans want Kirkpatrick's CD1 job

Nine Republicans are seeking to unseat freshman Democratic U.S. Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick in this fall's general election.

She faces more competition than any other incumbent member of Congress in Arizona. However, she doesn't face any primary competition from Democrats.

The only other Congressional race in Arizona with more candidates is in District 3, which is an open seat because John Shadegg is retiring. Ten Republicans, one Democrat and one Libertarian are vying for that seat.

Republicans seeking Kirkpatrick's 1st Congressional District seat are Bradley Beauchamp of Globe, Russell "Rusty" Bowers of Superior, Paul Burton of Page, Paul Gosar of Flagstaff, Sydney Hay of Munds Park, Joe Jaraczewski of Cottonwood, Jon Jensen of Prescott Valley, Steve Mehta of Show Low and Thomas Zaleski of Sedona. Hay has run twice before, losing in the general two years ago to Kirkpatrick.

Kirkpatrick's Chief of Staff Michael Frias said they were surprised at the number of candidates who signed up for the race.

"We always knew we'd have opponents, but I don't think we had any idea there would be nine opponents," Frias said.

Wednesday was the deadline for candidates to file nomination petitions at county and state elections offices. The Secretary of State's Office didn't finish compiling a final list of state and federal candidates until after 10 p.m. Wednesday.

State legislators also are up for re-election this year.

Legislative District 1 freshman state Sen. Steve Pierce, R-Prescott, faces only one competitor, Democrat Bob Donahue of Cornville, who previously has run for the job.

Incumbent LD1 Rep. Andy Tobin, R-Paulden, is running again but fellow LD1 Rep. Lucy Mason, R-Prescott, can't run again because she has reached her state-mandated limit of four consecutive terms.

Those competing against Tobin for one of the two LD1 House seats are Republicans Karen Fann of Prescott and Noel Campbell of Prescott, along with Democrat Lindsay Bell of Prescott. Fann is a former Chino Valley mayor, and both Fann and Bell are former Prescott City Council members.

While most of northern Yavapai County including Prescott and the Verde Valley is located in LD1, most of southern Yavapai County including the Highway 69 corridor east of Prescott Valley is located in Legislative District 4.

LD4 Sen. Jack Harper, R-Surprise, is seeking one of the two LD4 House seats because he has reached his term limit in the Senate. Incumbent Rep. Judy Burges, R-Skull Valley, is seeking re-election. They are facing off against Republicans Eric Sheats of Peoria and Tim Zobel of Wickenburg, along with Democrat Karina Guerrero of Phoenix.

Incumbent Rep. Tom Boone, R-Peoria, can't run again because of term limits.

Those in the LD4 Senate race are Republicans Tony Bouie of Anthem, Scott Bundgaard of Peoria and Shawn Kohner of Phoenix; and Democrat Sue Dolphin of Wittman.

Several Yavapai County residents are seeking statewide offices. Republican Buz Mills of Paulden and Libertarian Alvin Ray Yount of Prescott Valley are running for governor, while Republican incumbent Secretary of State Ken Bennett is seeking election after getting appointed to the job. Bennett has lived in Prescott most of his life but now officially lists his residence as Gilbert.

To view a full list of federal and state candidates in Arizona, go to the Secretary of State's website at

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...