Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Thu, March 21

Candidates file to run for county seats

A number of candidates filed for seats on the Yavapai County Superior and Justice courts as of the 5 p.m. deadline Wednesday, and several of them will face challengers.

Lists of candidates for statewide, legislative and congressional races were not final by press time.

Campaigns will be competitive in the races for justice of the peace in Bagdad/Yarnell, Mayer and Seligman, according to the website of the Yavapai County Elections Department.

The most crowded race is for justice of the peace in Mayer, with seven Republicans who filed petitions to replace John Kennedy, who is not seeking re-election. Voters initially elected Kennedy in 1991, according to the justice courts' website.

Candidates will run either by themselves or contested in the Aug. 24 primary, and some of them will face challenges in the Nov. 2 general election. They are running for four-year terms.

Candidates who filed petitions in competitive races are:

Justice of the peace, Bagdad/Yarnell

• Candidates are James Drake of Yarnell and incumbent Anna Mary Glaab of Peeples Valley, both Republicans; and Dale Wilson, an Independent from Yarnell. Voters elected Glaab in 1994.

Justice of the peace, Mayer

• Contenders, all Republicans, are Dale Bennett, David Blasco, Tricia Boone and David Pizer, all of Mayer; Mark Goswick of Humboldt, Joseph Hull of Morristown and M. William Rummer of Dewey.

Justice of the peace, Seligman

• Democrat Tina Bratz, Independent Marcus Jacobson and Republican Janice Kulp, all of Seligman. Judge Mary Hamm, who was appointed this year, is not running.

Running unopposed are:

Clerk of the Court

• Republican Jeanne Hicks of Prescott, elected in 2002.

Constable, Mayer

• Republican Hank Hellman of Humboldt. Voters elected him in 2003.

Constable, Prescott

• Republican John Watson of Chino Valley is running for another term. Voters elected him in 2002.

Constable, Seligman

• Corey Mitchell of Seligman is running as an Independent for the vacant seat.

Justice of the Peace, Prescott

• Arthur Markham of Prescott, a Republican, elected in 2002.

All six candidates for Superior Court judge, including five incumbents, are Republicans who are running unopposed.

The incumbents are Division 1 Judge David Mackey, Robert Brutinel of Division 2, Tina Ainley of Division 3, Kenton Jones of Division 4, and Thomas Lindberg of Division 6, all of Prescott.

Gov. Jan Brewer appointed Jones in October 2009 to replace Howard Hinson, who resigned after admitting he missed court deadlines. The Division 4 election is for only a two-year term.

Celé Hancock of Prescott filed for the Division 5 seat to replace William Kiger, who was elected in 1998 and took out a nomination packet but did not file nomination petitions by Wednesday's deadline.

Brutinel, the presiding county judge, has served the longest on the bench of any of the incumbent judges seeking re-election. Voters elected him in 1996.

Voters can request early ballots now through Aug. 13 for the primary.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...