Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Tue, March 19

Chamber announces new leaders for 2010

Mya Beckley, general manager of the Residence Inn by Marriott, will chair the Prescott Chamber of Commerce's board of directors for 2010. Lenora Nelson, president of Bennett Oil Co., will be the chairman-elect for 2011. Other officers this year are Hector Riojas (Unisource Energy Services), treasurer, and Greg Sober (Paypro Plus), past chairman.

Four new directors began three-year terms of service on the chamber board in 2010. They include Gary Denny (El Charro Restaurant), Jeff Hall (BBVA Compass Bank), Matt Holdsworth (Holdsworth & Co.), and Ed Walsh (Lamb Chevrolet). Kate St. Clair (PowerSource International) was also just appointed to fill the remaining year in an unexpired term.

Tourism is the focus of annual meeting

The Prescott Chamber will focus on job growth in 2010 and there's no better place to start than with the many businesses in Prescott that rely on a strong tourism market. To help kick off that mission in 2010, the chamber is pleased to have Sherry Henry, director of the Arizona Office Tourism, as the keynote speaker at the chamber's annual meeting, Friday, Jan. 29, at the Prescott Resort.

Henry brings a tremendous tourism background to her current position.

For reservation information, call Anne Confer at the chamber, 445-2000, ext. 114.

Ms. Henry was the interim director for the Arizona Tourism Alliance, overseeing its daily operations and serving as the representative to sister industries and tourism-related organizations. She has been an active board member of the Arizona Tourism Alliance for more than five years and a past chairman of the board. She is also a member of the Arizona Hotel & Lodging Association, Valley Hotel & Resort Association and is vice-chair of the Tempe Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Henry has been a Fiesta Bowl volunteer for more than 30 years. She began her Fiesta Bowl volunteerism with the Parade Committee, chaired most of the major committees from Hospitality to Entries, and became chairman in 1984.

She was the first woman to be elected to the board of directors and its first woman president as well as the first woman to be president of a major Bowl and still serves on the Fiesta Bowl board as an ex-officio Life Director.

Governor here Jan. 13 to discuss "State of the State"

Governor Jan Brewer has scheduled a stop in Prescott Wednesday, Jan. 13, to discuss the "State of the State" speech that she will have delivered two days earlier at the start of the regular legislative session.

Her local appearance will take place at the new Wyndham Garden Prescott Hotel (formerly Prescott Inn & Suites) with a lunch sponsored by the Prescott and Prescott Valley Chambers of Commerce. The cost to attend the lunch is $25 per person.

All reservations for this event are being handled by Beverly Oleson at the Prescott Valley Chamber of Commerce. Call 772-8857 to make a reservation.

Nominate Man/Woman/Youth Leaders of the Year Prescott Area Leadership is now accepting nominations for the 2010 Prescott Area Man, Woman and Youth Leaders of the Year. Each year, PAL solicits nominations from the public for these prestigious awards. The Nominees should demonstrate significant visionary leadership and community service in the Prescott area.

Nomination information and applications can be accessed at the PAL website, Applications must be received by Jan. 15. Winners will be recognized at the Man/Woman/Youth Leaders Awards Banquet on April 7 at the Prescott Resort.

New members

The Chamber welcomes the following new members: Friends of Yavapai College Art Foundation; Joan Gustafson/Edward Jones; Laughing Buddha Coffee Bar & Bakery; Ledgers Etc. LLC; Monk's Restaurant; Rotary Club of Prescott; Silver City Restoration; and Southwest Behavioral Health Services.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...