Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Tue, Feb. 18

Young students win music scholarships

PRESCOTT - The Yavapai Symphony Guild recently announced the winners of its annual Young Musicians Competition, which offers scholarships to classical musicians in grades 6 through 12.

The Guild awarded $11,000 in scholarships this year.

The first-place winners in the Senior Division are Chelsea Soto (voice), Aram Jones (piano), Claire Wasserman (strings), and Nicole Cain (brass/woodwinds).

Junior Division first-place awards went to Zoe Cahill (voice), Siena Kane (piano), Marisa Eastman (strings) and Rachael Zea (brass/woodwinds).

Winners in both divisions performed at the Prescott Community Center on Nov. 13.

The Yavapai Symphony Guild's purpose is to encourage understanding and enjoyment of classical music for the youth of Yavapai County, and to support the Yavapai Symphony Association.

The Guild sponsors free concerts at the Adult Center in Prescott from October through May the second Tuesday of each month.

For more information, contact Sylvia McIntosh at 443-0135 or Beverly Langhus at 759-2506.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...