Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Sat, April 20


CHINO VALLEY ­ The Yavapai County Elections Department on Thursday announced the unofficial final results from this week's primary elections in Chino Valley, Prescott Valley and Dewey-Humboldt, but little change occurred from Tuesday's original posting.

In Chino Valley, incumbent Mayor Karen Fann retained her chair by picking up 1,223 votes, or 61.6 percent of the 1,987 ballots counted, en route to an easy victory over challengers Ray Curran and Andrew Shelton.

Shelton, a progressive pro-growth candidate, received 413 votes, or 20.8 percent of the total, while Curran, a more moderate choice, collected 341 votes, or 17.2 percent.

With all precincts reporting, county election officials counted just 89 more votes in the CV mayoral race since late Tuesday night, and Fann snagged 54 of them ­ giving her a clear mandate from the town's voters in the all-mail ballot primary.

Fann, mayor since 2003, will begin serving another two-year term in June.

As for the Chino Valley Town Council race, incumbent Vice Mayor Joel Baker kept his seat as the top vote getter, snaring 1,099 of the 5,149 votes among a pool of six candidates who were vying for only three openings on the six-member council.a Candidate Ron Romley, a commissioner on the Chino Valley Planning and Zoning Commission, will join Baker on the council. Baker got 21.3 percent of the vote, and Romley raked in 1,082 votes, which also is 21 percent.

The third spot on the council remains up for grabs, however, with incumbent Dorothy Schmidt and candidate Gloria Moore still in contention. Schmidt, a councilmember since 2003, finished third in Tuesday's voting with 887 votes, or 17.2 percent, but Moore received 768 votes (14.9 percent) to force a runoff between the pair in the all-mail ballot general election May 15.

To capture a council seat, a candidate needed at least 1,012 votes in the primary.


With no challengers confronting them, the four incumbents on the Prescott Valley Town Council retained their seats.

Councilwoman Fran Schumacher received the most votes of the 20,541 tallies in the primary, garnering 5,148 votes, or 25.1 percent of the total.

Bob Edwards (4,969 votes, 24.2 percent), Mike Flannery (4,958 votes, 24.1 percent) and Lora Lee Nye (4,942 votes, 24.1 percent) rounded out the field.

The write-in tally came to 524 votes in the election, for which details were unavailable.


Of the 818 votes cast in Dewey-Humboldt's mayoral race, candidate Earl Goodwin snagged 519 of them to unseat incumbent Bob Greene and become the first elected mayor in the town's short two-year history.

With all precincts reporting, Goodwin won 63.5 percent of the vote while Greene walked away with 35.8 percent, or 293 votes.

In the council race, incumbent Len Marinaccio kept his seat as the No. 1 vote getter with 540 votes, or 30.1 percent, of the 1,792 total tallies submitted.

Candidates Floyd Wright (487 votes, 27.2 percent) and Don "Doc" Tebbe (418 votes, 23. 3 percent) also were victorious and will fill the two other seats current council members Candy Lincoln and Randy Savage are voluntarily vacating this spring.

Official write-in council candidates Denise Rogers (269 votes) and Bob Bowman (69 votes) did not receive the required 414 votes to challenge. Therefore, Dewey-Humboldt will not conduct a general election in May.

Contact the reporter at


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...