Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Sat, April 20

Hicks, Blaylock, Watson retain county seats

Incumbents Clerk of the Superior Court Jeanne Hicks, Seligman Justice of the Peace Katherine Blaylock and Prescott Constable John Watson jumped out to an early lead and never looked back Tuesday.

With 100 of 104 precincts reporting, 26.38 percent of the 99,595 registered voters went to the polls.

Hicks defeated fellow Republican Wayne Meddaugh by almost a 4 to 1 vote. She received 80.87 percent (12,690 votes) to Meddaugh's 19.08 percent (2,994 votes).

"Although things could change, things are looking good. I appreciate everyone who voted for me, and those who helped and volunteered. I plan to follow through on what we are doing and look forward to implementing new technology," Hicks said.

Blaylock held off Democrat, challenger Ernesto Flores 54.326 percent (88 votes) to Flores' 42.21 percent (70 votes).

Blaylock said she was "relieved and thankful for the support" she received.

In the Republican primary for Prescott Constable, Watson received 64.37 percent (6,126 votes) to challenger Terry Hemmen's 35.53 percent (3,381 votes).

"I am glad it is over. I want to thank all the voters and all the individuals who helped. I am looking forward to four more years," Watson said.

Although the three incumbents won in the Primary Election, they will still appear on the November General Election ballot. With no Democratic challengers, Hicks and Watson will be the only candidates for their positions.

Blaylock will appear as the Democratic candidate for Seligman Justice of the Peace against Republican write-in candidates John Cothrun and Frank Nick. The election department did not count the write-in votes at press time.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...