Trusted local news leader for Prescott area communities since 1882
Tue, Nov. 12

Seder drops out, Skoog faces no challengers

No one will oppose Mayor Harvey Skoog in Prescott Valley's 2005 municipal election.a

Four candidates will seek to fill the town's two available council seats. The candidates include incumbent Tom Steele, former Town Council member Eunice Conner, former Prescott City Council member Harold Wise and Yavapai College Associate Dean Angie Parker. Councilman Ed Seder will not seek re-election.

The candidates had to turn in their nomination petitions Wednesday. Council candidates needed a minimum of 474 valid signatures on their petitions, and mayoral candidates needed to collect 511 signatures.

The minimum number of signatures is derived by multiplying 5 percent by the number of the highest vote cast for an elected official during the town's last election.

Diane Russell, the Prescott Valley town clerk, noted that the high turnout during the town's Nov. 2 recall election might have increased the total number of voters, therefore raising the minimum number of signatures.

Current council member Seder, Sue O'Grady, former Prescott Valley council member Chuck Ables and Ernie Ortega took out election packets for the town's 2005 election, but never turned in any signatures. Seder did not return a call placed by this reporter.

During a Dec. 2 council meeting, Skoog encouraged members of the public to sign candidates' petitions. O'Grady acknowledged that getting the 474 signatures was a challenge, but added that she was not running because the Town Council appeared to be going through some turmoil.

Skoog collected 795 signatures, Parker turned in 780 signatures, Steele had 619 signatures, Conner collected 556 signatures, and Wise turned in 500 signatures. Steele, Wise and Conner turned in their signatures Wednesday. Parker submitted her signatures on Dec. 1, and Skoog turned his in on Dec. 3.

All of the candidates turned in statements saying that they will not spend more than $500 on the election, except for Parker and Wise, who opted to form political committees.

The town's primary election is scheduled for March 8, and its general election will be held on May 17. Any council candidate that receives more than 50 percent of the vote March 8 will not have to run in the town's general election.

Contact the reporter at

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads...